Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo, it’s off to work I go

by littlefashionistaontheprairie

What a wonderful day it is today! First off it is Wednesday (fist pump!) and second off (is that a thing?) I am blogging again! SAY WHAT!? It has been far too long and I have to say that it is nice to be back. I have been making far too many excuses for why I haven’t been blogging, and by gum, I will have it no more!

So let’s jump right in to it… CLOTHES!!!!!!!!!!! I have been doing minimal shopping as of late, with the exception of a clothing order from Sammy Dress (what a fiasco) and a trip or two to Winners. I have been trying really hard to only buy pieces that I can wear to work. My office style is quite different from my actual style. Confession time; I am going to be really honest, it is totally lame ass. I try so hard to put in effort, but I just can’t find a passion for office attire. I have a really hard time finding the right balance between work appropriate and Stockholm Street Style. But fret not my pets, I have seen the error of my ways and have vowed to stop being a lazy fashionista and start practicing what I preach.

I have far too many items that, while fashionable, are slightly impractical to wear all at once to work, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t merge the practical with the fashionable items in my closet. My look today is my way of blending these two worlds. A Hi-Lo dress and a blazer… earth shattering, I know! OK, so it’s not. However, you would never see a high-powered exec in a hi-lo dress, so this is how I stick it to the “office uniform” man. Paired with opaque tights, wedge booties and some cute accessories, this look says “I’m going to take over your company and sell it to the Japanese, but I may go get drunk at lunch first.”

e

I’m interested to know how everyone else merges their “real” style with their “work” style. If you have any tips or ideas, please leave a comment!

Happy Hump Day, Fashionistas!

