Powder Foundation

by littlefashionistaontheprairie

I hate wearing foundation. I have it and I use it, but I dread every second it’s on my face… My biggest grip is that I always feel like I am wearing make-up. I dream of the day where my skin is so amazing that all I need to do is wake up, throw on some bronzer and blush and be ready for the day. I don’t see this day coming any time soon, so I fake it… We all do!

I’ve used all types, brands and formulas, oh and also techniques too… yes, there are various techniques to foundation. You can airbrush it, stipple it, buff it, blend it… the list is long, so I digress. I’ve tried everything possible to get the coverage I need with the least amount of product. I have failed and I have succeed.

I get the most success from powdered foundations. They are the best type to use if you are looking for great coverage without a lot of make-up. They can be a bit tricky as you need to have properly moisturized skin in order for it to not dry it out. People with dry skin, may have issues with it. However, on that note, if you have dry skin you should be using moisturizer. If you aren’t moisturizing properly, you deserve bad-looking skin! Also, if you have older skin, these blends tend to settle in fine lines, so be wary of that. You may want to steer clear and use a liquid formula.

I prefer “Mineral” blends, as they are the least harsh on my face and, for the most part, have a lot of skin benefiting products in them. I’ve used a few brands but Smashbox, and Vichy are by far the best ones I have used.

Vichy Aera Teint Mineral Powder Foundation is my current mineral foundation of choice. It is very moisturizing, gives great coverage and was by far the best price point (I got it on dale for half price). The brush it comes with sucks big time, so just throw it away.

Smashbox Halo is amazing! Great coverage, super moisturizing, and great packaging (it is pressed powder you shave down to turn it in to a fine powder for application), but… not so great price. It does last a long time, so I can over look it. But it still hurts when I do suck it up and purchase it.

The technique for applying powdered foundation is by far the easiest and best way to get great coverage. You “Buff” the powder in to your skin, which is essentially just rubbing (in a circular motion), using a Kabuki brush. Maybe I will back up and just explain what a Kabuki is first;

“A kabuki brush is a makeup brush with a short flat head and a short stem. The brush head is usually rounded or flat, with a curved edge. Kabuki brushes are most commonly used to apply dry, powder-based makeup such as foundation or blush. Because of its size and shape, a kabuki brush is excellent for applying a concentrated amount of product in a strong blunt curve. These brushes are also excellent for creating all-over coverage with a natural look.”

There are many different types, but essentially, they all look like this;

To start, make sure you’ve properly moisturized. Not too much though, because mineral foundation are formulated to be moisturizing (you can over moisturize!). You also want to use a primer to get a good base. I use Cover FX, Clear Prep Primer. This way I get a mattifying primer to keep my skin shine free all day, plus it provides a great canvas to put your product on to.

You only need a small amount of product to get good coverage, so don’t go over board. Depending on the product, dump a little bit in to the lid,  take your kabuki and swirl it in the powder, tap off any excess and then buff on to your skin (in a circular motion). I would start with your nose and work outwards.

After you have done your first pass, I would take a look and determine if you need to do another pass or if you can just use a smaller brush and spot cover any imperfections. You don’t want to much powder on your face, because it will get cakey.

I usually finish off with a bit of bronzer, blush and then mascara and, voilà, I am out the door! Literally takes 10 minutes. So simple and I don’t have to worry about reapplying throughout the day or oily skin, because I use a mattifying primer.

All in all, there are so many formulas, brands and types out there it is so easy for you to experiment and get your routine down pat. I happen to prefer this formula and these brands and techniques, but I am totally open to changing things up. If you have any questions or suggestions,  feel free to leave a message!

Happy Tuesday Fashionistas!

