Cod Liver Oil… So gross, but so good

by littlefashionistaontheprairie

I remember when I was a kid my Mom would force my siblings and I take CLO (Cod Liver Oil) by the gigantic, spoonful to ward off colds, the flu and any other things kiddies pick up’. Needless to say, it was disgusting and I hated having to take it.

My recent skin woes have had me searching all over the internet for any remedies, products and information that could help me tame my mess of a face. I stumbled upon a few blogs that mentioned they had used CLO to help fix their problem skin… I was a bit apprehensive, but as I kept reading there were other benefits (like fighting off illness’) that really intrigued me and once I read that they are available in pill form, I couldn’t say no. So I jumped out of my desk and ran down to the nearest pharmacy.

One week later, and I am happy to report that my skin is changing back to its normal state. I was so surprised at how quickly it started working. I am a notorious pimple picker (TMI?!) so my face was looking a little on the “Meth Face” side and within a few days I noticed that my scarring and scabbing had reduced dramatically. I am still getting some breakouts, probably due to the fact that I will be getting my monthly gift soon (again, TMI!), but they aren’t nearly as bad and are reducing in size/healing quite quickly.

Why is cod liver oil so awesome?

Well, It is one of the most reliable and concentrated food sources of four nutrients that are essential to human health; DHA, EPA, vitamin A, and vitamin D.

These four nutrients are vital for:

  • Healthy skin
  • Strong bones and teeth
  • Healthy joints
  • A healthy cardiovascular system
  • A healthy nervous system and prevention of depression and other mood disorders
  • A healthy digestive tract

So as you can see, the benefits are great. I would even go so far as to say it is a bit of a miracle product.

While most of the blogs mentioned using a fermented CLO (in oil or pill form), I opted for a non-fermented pill for my first go around, just in case I didn’t see any benefits. I have a 1 month supply, so as soon as that runs out I will take a trip to my local health food store and seek out a more potent version.

I found this blog post very useful when I was doing my research.

That’s all for now, but as soon as I start to see some more benefits (I am very interested to see how it will affect my immune system!) I will report back. If you have any questions or recommendations, leave me a message.

Happy Friday Fashionistas!

