Favourite Things

by littlefashionistaontheprairie

As I mentioned before I am a bit of a product whore, so I tend to jump from product to product and range to range. Sometimes this can be a good thing and other times I just give my head a shake and think to myself “why did you think it could get better!?”… Both Clarins Pure Melt Cleansing Gel and Clarins Lotus Face Treatment Oil fit into the latter.

Clarins Pure Melt Cleansing Gel is a cleansing gel that transforms into oil (Don’t cringe, it works! But more on that later) which melts away excess oil and impurities. Once you start to rinse your face the water activates the oil into milk that rinses skin clean. Its main ingredient is Marula Oil which they claim is “for optimal radiance and comfort”.

You may be wondering why someone would use an oil to clean their face. You probably believe that oil clogs pores and causes breakouts, right? Well Home Slice, that couldn’t be farther from the truth! Basic chemistry taught us that things need to be balanced in order to be stable. Your skin is no exception to this rule. When you cleanse your skin you are upsetting that balance and creating an unstable environment, which leads to dryness, breakouts and overall bad skin. You know that feeling that you call “clean” after you wash your face? You know the one I’m talking about…your skin feels tight and so you think it is clean. Well, that “clean” feeling is in fact your skin being stripped of the natural oils that your skin creates. Your skin creates this oil because it needs it to maintain a balance, so why the hell are you getting rid of it? Also, oil dissolves oil, thus making it an excellent cleanser!

You can use the Pure Melt Cleaning Gel a couple of different ways. You can apply it directly to your face and massage it in and then rinse and walk away or you can use it in conjunction with a steamed face cloth. With the steamed face cloth, you want to make sure that you are placing the face cloth directly over your face after you have massaged the cleansing oil on to your face. Let it sit there until it cools off and then you can use the face cloth to wipe off the oil. I prefer the latter as it provides a deeper clean by opening up your pores and really letting that oil do its thing.

The second product, Clarins Lotus Face Treatment Oil, is a moisturizing treatment oil (again with that oil!) for combination skin, Clarins has 3 different types of treatment oils for different skin types, this one just happens to suit my needs. I can’t say enough about this product. From the way it smells, to the way it moisturizes, I can’t get enough. The main ingredients are essential oils of Rosewood, Geranium and Lotus and Hazelnut Oil, which is why I think I love the smell of this product so much, those ingredients combined smell AMAZING! If you’re like me and you like the smell of natural ingredients and not perfumes, you will love it. Besides the smell, I also love how it piggy backs on to the Cleansing Melt Gel and helps further purify and extract all of the bad things in your pores.  The benefits I mentioned above about cleansing with oil also pertain to moisturizing with oil (Balance is key!), so it really makes sense to use the two products together.

I also use this little beauty with another Clarins product (I’m not being paid to endorse Clarins btw’s!), the Pure and Radiant Mask, to really get a deep down purification.

All in all I can’t get enough of these two products, and I am so very happy that I made the switch back. I’ve noticed a massive improvement in my skin, which for a while there was starting to look like my skin did when I was 16! These products are pricey, but for the benefits and because you don’t need to use a lot of product each time (last time I bought these products they lasted me about 6 months) they are well worth the cost.

If you want to read more on oils, check out this site. It really gives you a better understanding of the benefits of oils, plus it has some recipes for making your own oil cleansers. 

