Black and Blue

by littlefashionistaontheprairie

This is my second intervention in the last week, and it couldn’t come any sooner.

Men listen up!

I love men in suits, it is common knowledge… I can’t help it!  I love that “Harvard” look a great suit gives you. I’ve heard from some men (they shall remain nameless, but they know who they are) that they don’t believe they can wear black and blue together. More specifically, they don’t think that can combine black and blue while wearing suits and shirts. I find this appalling… I’m just going to throw that out there.

First off, who told you this? Was it the same person who said you can’t wear white after Labour Day? And secondly, who made you the Fashion Police?

I obviously don’t believe this. In fact, I think if you believe that you can’t wear black and blue together you probably shouldn’t be putting together your own outfits, ever.

Black and Blue are both neutrals, which means … you guessed it guys…they can be put with any color, even each other! I know, I know, it is fashion anarchy!!!!

Neutrals are, just that, neutral. Like the Switzerland of colors, they don’t play favourites or take sides. They are either in the background setting off a plethora of colors, or they are frolicking together, blissfully unaware that unfashionable people are trying to keep them apart. They work well with others and together, the perfect fashion team!

So what are these “neutrals” you speak of Fashionista? They are;

  • Grey
  • White
  • Tan
  • Beige/Cream
  • Brown
  • Blue (including denim)
  • Olive (in my opinion)

Guys, any of these can be combined, trust me! I would never steer you wrong, I want you to look as good as possible! In fact, if you venture out and wear a black suit with a blue shirt, I can guarantee I will be impressed! If you aren’t convinced look at the picture above! HOTTIE ALERT!

It can be daunting for some, so my suggestion will be to start off slowly. Try wearing a patterned blue shirt (stripes or checks) with your black suit, or vice versa. Work your way up to it boys, I promise you (nor I) wont be disappointed.

